Tuesday, 10 April 2007 , 23:04

As everyone is keeping themselves busy with work and exams, I on the other hand am trying to keep myself busy with my writings. Somehow I think I’m very much at ease with what I am doing now; watching and observing what’s happening around me and try to put what I saw into words, which is exactly what I am doing now.

Grandma just came yesterday and will probably stay for a couple of days or so. Occasionally granny will be here every 2-3 months, depends on her medical appointment. She prefers to be sent to Bintulu instead of Miri. Well, basically because she got vast choices of places to stay. She sometimes will be at Uncle Nick’s place which is just a few blocks away from my house.

I’m keeping myself awake for the Valencia VS Chelsea clash at the Maestalla. Well, I still have another 4 hours to wait. I was thinking of going to bed earlier just now but then I just have so many things in my head that I would like to write.

I do hope that Chelsea will go through despite the uphill task that Chelsea will have to face in Valencia. My verdict, it will be a draw. Even so, I do hope that the result is in our favor. 1-1 seems to be a safe bet on the game. I’d very happy if we win the game tonight.

Whoever wins this tie will definitely face Rafa Benitez’s side in the next round. Well, Valencia used to be Rafa’s playground. He won the Champions League and The Primera Liga during his spell at Maestalla. I guess Liverpool is progressing tremendously well in Europe despite a not so convincing performances in the league, still they posses a big threat and one of the favourites to lift the cup in Athens next month.

Let’s just skip away from football just for a little while. Mel sent me an SMS this evening:

“Oi, Cibol! Dapat assessment kat INTAN? My friend said that’s the toughest one. 🙂 Good luck and start to do your work out now. Ha ha ha!”

Thanks for the super convincing encouragement. Oh! Boy. I’ve not been going for workout sessions for God knows how long. I hope it’s not a program where I have to do a lot of running and climbing. I had an experience once, which I told myself, I won’t do it again. That was back a few years ago when I went for this Gunung Nuang expedition. That was one hell of an expedition man. It took us 12 hours to reach the peak and the next day, I can’t even walk. Despite the pain and sufferings, I still managed to go to the National Museum a day after, a trip that I told myself that I would never miss. You want to know why? Hot chicks were all there, I mean with the trip. I brave it all away. Those were the days.

I’m off to bed now; I’ll see you again after the game. Good night!

Wednesday, 11 April 2007, 04:56

I can’t help but to blog about this. Against all odds, Chelsea Football Club has done it again. The quadruple is still very much within reach. Chelsea edged mighty Valencia 2-1 at La Maestalla thanks to second half goals by Andriy Shevchenko and Michael Essien that made up for what a great week for The Blues.

I can’t help but to feel so much excited about the win. We are through to the next round of the most elite European Football Club Competition of all time, The EUFA Champions League. Chelsea are through for the 3rd time that I can remember or maybe 2nd. I remember that we were beaten in the semis by our possible opposition in the next round, Liverpool 1-0 by a freak Luis Garcia strike at Anfield.

Chelsea put on a very patient style of play in the first half, a very typical boring way of Chelsea play I must say but somehow we managed to be in control of the game by having 61% in terms of possession of the ball. That stats somehow didn’t really reflect the score line at half time, Valencia was leading by a goal to nil thanks to a marvelous tap in from close range by the same man who knocked Chelsea out at the same stage back a few years ago (I’m too lazy to do my research), Fernando Morientes. Back then he was on loan from Real Madrid, playing for Monaco.

Mourinho made some changes in the 2nd half line-up; Joe Cole came in for the makeshift right back, Lasanna Diarra. Essien who has playing wide on the right was then being stuffed at the right wing-back position to make way for Joe Cole. It proved to be a turning to the game because for the next 45 minutes, Joe Cole has been giving Asier Del Horno (former Chelsea left back, sold to Valencia after a season) a torrid time on the right side but not only him was having a hard time, the same goes to Morretti and the ageing Ayala.

Essien got his magical touch on both of Chelsea’s goal. His confusing cross led to Chelsea’s comeback providing Shevchenko into lashing a powerful strike from three yards a goal mouth scramble and his wonderful strike in the dying minutes of the second half that ensure Chelsea are safe through to the semis marked his comeback after missing the last couple of matches due to injury. His performance tonight was worth every dime Chelsea spent to bring him from Lyon. A brilliant display and it seems to me that he can still play for another 90 minutes so to speak.

Valencia never really looked like scoring in the 2nd half but there was one decent chance that Angulo should’ve done better. Joe Cole’s introduction and Quique Sanchez’ decision to relegate Morientes to the bench proved to be the turning point of the game. After Morientes was taken out, Valencia was left with no out and out striker upfront. That gave Chelsea a little breather at the back despite potent threat on from Joaquin on the right flank.

Meanwhile Manchester United finally get their act together by walloping AS Roma 7-1 and went through the next round with 8-3 on aggregate. Braces from Michael Carrick, Christiano Ronaldo and a goal a piece from Alan Smith, Wayne Rooney and Patrice Evra completed the mauling of the Romans at the Theatre of Dreams. Somehow the phrase from the movie 300 came to mind, “Tonight We Dine in Hell!!” It sounded so sad to be true for Roma but I was happy that we’ll be seeing more English side in the next round. My verdict, Man United will face Bayern Munich in the semis. Bayern would very much like to avenge their 2-1 defeat in 1998. I guess this is just enough for the day. We’ll be seeing Liverpool end of this month as long as Liverpool not being battered 4-0 or 5-0 by PSV tomorrow, which is unlikely of course and it will be one hell of a family battle; Dad VS me. I just can’t wait. Bring them on.

p/s : Zewt, sorry to dissapoint you 🙂

